Roosevelt community celebrates student leadership

By Quinton R. Arthur

Roosevelt University hosted the 2015 Student Leadership Awards on April 10 in the Congress Lounge. The ceremony recognized students and organizations who help improve the quality of the campus on a daily basis.

Roosevelt President Charles Middleton gave the welcome address in which he congratulated all the student leaders on their successes, including those of the past, present and the future.

“He or she who cannot follow, cannot lead,” said Middleton. “Sometimes, you are leading.  Sometimes, you are following, but you are always making a difference.”

Elizabeth Choporis, director of the Center for Student Involvement, presented at the award ceremony.

Certificates were given out to students, who participated in the Student Leadership Summit. The summit focuses on leadership development, social justice and how to be positive agents of change. This year, the program was attended by 47 Roosevelt students and supported by five faculty members.

The first award given was the Rising Star Award, given to Samuel Rivera, for being an emerging student leader who has shown tremendous growth over the past academic year. The Make a Difference award-winner was Melanie Davis, for dedicated her time and energy to volunteering in the community.

The Torch Award was given to student service staff members Angeline Jones, Anthony Paglia, Claudia Remy and Margaret Dobek. Remy reflected on what winning the awards meant to her.

“It means all the hard work that myself and others [have] contributed to the programs and events, [that] we are being recognized,” said Remy. “It also means I have more work to do pushing for service and assisting others anyway I can.”

The Green Key Society Award inductees were Angeline Jones, Brandon Rohlwing, Bryant Riley, Colleen Dennis, Lupita Carrasquillo, Mary Rasic, Mary Strickler, Nicole Lim and Rebecca Quesnell.

The Eleanor Roosevelt Social Justice Award recipient was given to Danielle Cooperstock, who exemplifies the mission of the university. The Bronze “R” Award winners were Alyssa Hankins, Claudia Remy, Jessica Naber, Rebecca Mendez, and Royston Lee. The award can be given up to two students from each registered student organization.

The winners of Advisor of the Year and Student Organization of the Year both went to Peer Mentors. The advisor, Danielle Smith, and the Peer Mentors organization worked hard to develop quality membership, recruitment, programming and service.


The Student Leader of the Year award went to Jessica Naber, a student who has been active in the Roosevelt community since her first semester.

“It is said if you need something done, ask a busy person,” a phrase read in her nomination packet. “At Roosevelt, if you need something done, ask Jess Naber. Those who know her are touched in a positive way, shown through her exuberance and care for others.”

Naber has been involved with Alpha Phi Omega, the Student Leadership Summit, Student Activities Fee Allocation Committee, 2014 Chair Relay for Life Committee, Speed Board and has served as an Orientation Leader since 2013.

As the event came to an end, Choporis said that it wasn’t just the educational experience at the academic level that shapes a student’s perspective.

“A life-changing education is not only the classes we take, but the experiences that help transform us,” said Choporis.

Categories: Feature, Recent Posts

Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: